The One Last Party

So, what am I currently missing out on today?

Oh, nothing, it’s only the undoubtedly incredible One Last Party.

What’s that you ask?

Basically, The One Last Party is a party (duh) held on February 21 (today for most, yesterday for me) in Hollywood and it’s a celebration of all six of Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth films.

This is practically every Tolkien fan’s dream party. It’s obviously Middle Earth themed and the attire is formal but guests can come in cosplay (that’s right, elf ears, long wigs, dwarven clothes and many others are welcome!). You can probably come as Gollum for all they care!

It’s hosted by TheOneRing.net and apparently, they have been hosting parties like this since 2001.

Too bad I only recently became a Tolkien fan, otherwise, I would’ve made sure to save up some extra cash for events like this.

Which brings us to why I’m missing out.

I found out about The One Last Party through TORn just last month when it was too late to buy the good tickets. Not that I could afford it in such short notice, but if I probably found out about this a lot earlier, I could’ve prepared for it.

You see, I live all the way in Souteast Asia, where currency conversion is a bitch.

What might seem like a modest or reasonable amount in USD, is a shit ton of money in PHP for just a single night. Being on the other side of the world means that not only do I have to buy tickets like everyone else, but I also have to actually get to Hollywood from my tropical country.

The airfare alone is a pain in the ass, add to that the accommodation and whatever else you’ll need while you’re there.

So, yes. To save the butchering of my bank account, I opted to stay at home and get jealous of everyone in the chatroom at TORn who’s going.

On the bright side, I still get to see what the party’s like thanks to the wonders of livestreaming.

Since admittedly I forgot that the party’s today, I tuned in a little (a lot) late and didn’t catch the first or middle parts of the party.

What greeted me was this gem:

bifur

Oh yes! That is William Kircher (Bifur from The Hobbit) and he is there performing with his band, the California Dreamers.

I didn’t catch much else of the party, unfortunately, and was only able to watch Bifur’s William’s band sing, the raffle, and other musical performances.

So this ends here, but let me leave you with Thorin and Thranduil partying:

thorinthranduilparty

Along with this treasure from one of the girls in the California Dreamers:

“It’s past 10 o’clock and I don’t mind if you see my ass.”

Leave a comment